Board Members

gail sjuberg

Gail Sjuberg, Board chair, is the long-time editor of the Gulf Islands Driftwood newspaper and website, and other Driftwood Publishing Ltd. publications. She co-chaired the first Giant Book Sale, along with Judi Francis of the Salt Spring Community Education Society, way back in 2007, which led to her involvement with Salt Spring Literacy.

Pat Campbell, Board vice-chair, began her career in adult literacy in 1985. Since Pat Campbell 1then, she has worked as a practitioner, researcher and publisher. Pat is the author of several books on reading instruction and assessment. She recently developed the intake assessment for Nunavut’s Arctic College. In 2013 she was given a Queen’s Diamond Jubilee Medal for her service to literacy in Canada.

 Eva Kuhn, Board treeva kuhnasurer, is the former office manager for Driftwood Publishing Ltd. and now does bookkeeping for select clients. She was also treasurer for the Stagecoach Theatre School Society for several years. As an immigrant to Canada for whom English was a second language, she knows the importance of reading and writing in order to succeed in everyday life.

Cathy McCluskeyCathy McCluskey, Board Secretary, is a retired teacher who moved to the island full-time with her husband in May 2015 from Burlington, Ontario. Cathy had a 30-year career as an elementary teacher, primarily as a special educator and learning resource teacher in both inner city and suburban schools working with children with specific learning challenges and developing education plans with their teachers and families. Upon arrival on Salt Spring, Cathy quickly became a literacy tutor and also participated in the One-to One school program at Fernwood School.

Deb McGovern, Board Member. Deb McGovern’s career was in the human resources Deb McGovernfield, working for large corporations and government. On the volunteer side of things, with a passion for archaeology and history, she was a docent at the UBC Museum of Anthropology. Since retiring to Salt Spring, Deb has volunteered with the Salt Spring Island Conservancy, the Salt Spring Therapeutic Riding Association, the Salt Spring Island Fire Protection District (on its human resources committee) and as a Giant Book Sale volunteer.


Maureen Stuart, Board Member.

Joanna Whalley, Board Member.